New Year’s Resolutions


Has everybody made New Year’s resolutions?  There are a lot I could have made. Exercise. Eat healthy. Quit my addiction to Canadian Idol (yep, you heard me. I like it way better than American!) But I never keep these types of resolutions anyway, and it just depresses me to look back and realize that I just didn’t get it together, for yet another year.

I did make one New Year’s resolution. That was to live in the present, not the future or the past. I don’t know how many of you out there are like this: you spend your time thinking about what you’re going to do with your future and focusing a lot on what you’ve done in the past. Sometimes I feel like my life won’t really “start” until I’ve done certain things. I guess it’s like that saying “Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans for the future” (or however that goes). So I’m going to try and just live in the present. Not that I’ll become an ambitionless drifter with no mind for the consequences of my actions because they’re in the “past”. Just that my main focus will be on the here and now.

We’ll see next year how that goes!!!

One New Year’s resolution I always made as a student was to stay organized and on top of things in my classes. Do the readings a few days ahead of time instead of the night before (or, I’m not going to lie, not at all . . .) Take neat and organized notes. Make a calendar pointing out dates and deadlines so I could study in advance for exams and hit the library early to start researching for papers. Ha! By Reading Week at the latest, I was back to my old slapdash style. It worked for me, though!

Happy New Year! Good luck with classes starting. I’ll try to post a couple times a week from now on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

